Glossary of Health Care and Medical Terms

In many cases,
You can click on the healthcare related term below to get a more in-depth description of that glossary term. On the extended definition page, you will be shown the longer description, plus a list of articles related to that term or topic.


International Classification of Diseases. Codes disease maintained by the World Health Organization. These codes describe a disease or condition. ICD codes are used to classify diagnoses and causes of death. As many as four ICD-9 codes can be linked to one CPT code on a standard HCFA-1500 insurance claim form.

ICD-10 codes are currently used by most of the world. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) requires the use or this coding starting in 2014. Some CPT codes will be included. International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision.

ICD-10 codes are alphanumeric and contain 3 to 7 characters, whereas, ICD-9 codes are mostly numeric and have 3 to 5 digits.

Health care providers covered by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) will be required to document health care transactions using ICD-10 codes. This includes providers and payers who do not deal with Medicare claims.

Claims for all services and hospital inpatient procedures performed on or after the ICD-10 compliance deadline must use ICD-10 diagnosis and inpatient procedure codes.

ICD-10-CM is a clinical modification of the World Health Organization’s ICD-10. ICD-10-CM is a diagnostics classification system. ICD-10-CM includes the level of detail needed for morbidity classification and diagnostics specificity in the United States. It also provides code titles and language that compliment accepted clinical practice in the US. The system consist of more than 68,000 diagnosis codes
Also see: ICD, ICD-10, ICD-9-CM

ICD-10-PCS is a procedure code capture system, which is much more detailed and specific than the short volume of procedure code included in ICD-9-CM.  ICD-10-PCS is used for hospital inpatient procedures only
Also see: ICD-10, ICD-9-CM, ICD-10-CM

ICD-9 is International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision. It is a procedure and diagnosis coding system.

Claims for all services and hospital inpatient procedures provided before the ICD-10 compliance date must use ICD-9 / ICD-9-CM codes.
Also see: ICD, ICD-10, ICD-9-CM

International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical Modification.

Powered by MyInstantGlossary WordPress Plugin